New Articles Over At The Once and Future Podcast

I have a couple new articles up over at the Once and Future Podcast, a couple of which are Star Wars related. I hope you enjoy!

Despite All My Rage: The Enigma That Is Kylo Ren

I’ve seen a lot of talk about Kylo Ren, the newest villain in the Star Wars world in the movie, introduced in The Force Awakens. Fans of Star Wars seem to long for an adversary the equal of Vader, and many seem disappointed with this new seemingly weak, kind of douchey character.

Of course, no one is more disappointed that Kylo Ren is not Vader than Kylo Ren himself.

THE FORCE AWAKENS Something Unexpected: Thank You, J.J. Abrams

When I went to see Star Wars: The Force Awakens on opening day, I was about as excited as could be. The event almost overshadowed the rest of the holidays in my house, and for me, that’s saying something. I was fired up about meeting new characters, and I couldn’t wait to see the old familiar faces. But the best thing about the entire movie for me was something I hadn’t expected at all, and my reaction to it surprised even me.

What? I Can’t Hear You Over My Nerd-Rage!

Nerd-rage. Let’s face it, it happens. One minute, you’re talking with someone about something you’re both passionate about, and suddenly, BOOM, war breaks out. How could this guy think Jedi was better than Empire? And he likes Star Trek V? SERIOUSLY? Who DOES that? I’ve seen strangers go on to Facebook pages of folks they don’t even know and completely trash them because they’ve never seen a Doctor Who episode prior to 2005, and I’ve seen the best of friends not speak for a month because of an argument over Firefly. On the latest episode of the Once and Future Podcast, Anton Strout and Ryan Britt discussed this phenomenon a bit, and it seems to be fairly prevalent.

Leave a Reply

