REVIEW: Jeff VanderMeer’s ACCEPTANCE

ACCEPTANCE

Story Summary: 

The final installment of Jeff VanderMeer’s Southern Reach Trilogy
It is winter in Area X. A new team embarks across the border on a mission to find a member of a previous expedition who may have been left behind. As they press deeper into the unknown—navigating new terrain and new challenges—the threat to the outside world becomes more daunting. In Acceptance, the last installment of Jeff VanderMeer’s Southern Reach Trilogy, the mysteries of Area X may have been solved, but their consequences and implications are no less profound—or terrifying.

I am almost speechless concerning this book, and for those of you who know me, that is quite a feat.

This is one of those books–one of those SERIES–that just haunted me long after I finished it. I had dreams about it, working through it in my mind. I’ve heard this series classified as “New Weird,” and honestly, it’s the best classification I can come up with as well. It’s a psychological-nature thriller that packs an emotional punch and stays with you long after you close the book. Even at the end, you never quite know what is real, what is going on. In fact, I’m not going to get into plot points, because this series just has to be experienced for itself. It IS an experience.

VanderMeer has a gorgeous style of writing, and with this third book, Area X especially came alive for me. So many rich details, I really felt I was in the story. When I started ACCEPTANCE, I was worried with some of the POV changes between characters I would get lost or have a hard time, but this was not the case at all. Each character had his/her own way of telling their piece and it really added to the world of the story.

The nature geek in me really appreciated the amount of research VanderMeer did to write the Southern Reach series. Area X is a character in its own right in this story. There is so much detail in here, but it makes the story organic, it doesn’t bog it down at all. This is a tough thing for a writer to accomplish, and VanderMeer proves himself a master at it. Beautiful imagery fills the pages of this book, making the world come to life in the reader’s imagination–so much so that there were parts that really made my neck prickle. The book left me with a lot to ponder.

I highly, highly recommend this book and the rest of the Southern Reach trilogy (ANNIHILATION, AUTHORITY, ACCEPTANCE). There really is something for everyone here: mystery, emotional impact, thrills and wonder. Congratulations to Jeff VanderMeer–this series is a true accomplishment.

 

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Jeff VanderMeer’s ACCEPTANCE

  1. Pingback: Jeff VanderMeer’s Acceptance Review Round-Up | Chaos Horizon

  2. I have read the first book and have been waiting to read AUTHORITY until ACCEPTANCE came out so I could read them back to back. I agree, I love the sense of dread and uncertainly that permeate the first book. Great review!

Leave a Reply

