REVIEW: Jeff VanderMeer’s AUTHORITY

ImageI was supposed to have reviewed this a month ago, but crazy life kept getting in the way! Better late than never, I suppose.

I loved this book. Like the first book in the Southern Reach Trilogy, ANNIHILATION, this book gave me chills. The first book was from the POV of “the biologist,” on an expedition to Area X to do research for the Southern Reach organization. This book is from the POV of “Control,” a person within Southern Reach. It was nice to get the different perspective, and while often I hate series with different POVs in each book, I didn’t find this jarring at all.

While reading the book, it’s strange, because it will seem to be going slowly, yet suddenly you realize you’re halfway through and clenching your jaw. I found the pacing to be seamless, the flow of the story went so smoothly that you don’t even realize how edgy the story has you until you feel your heart pounding. Reading it was like a dream. Probably my favorite part of all of this is that I have no idea what is going to happen. It’s often way too easy for me to figure things out, which I find very disappointing. None of that here.

Chilling, intriguing, enthralling, Authority will keep you thinking long after you close the book. Highly, highly recommended!

Leave a Reply

