Attention Romance Writers! And a #ROW80 update…

ImageHere is a valuable opportunity for you to get your work seen by agents and editors.  My local chapter of RWA, CTRWA, has a contest we do every year called the Write Stuff.  Every single entry receives detailed feedback from trained judges, not just numbers.  Final round folks get to have their work judged by prominent agents and editors in the genre.  These agents and editors aren’t just interested in judging the contest–they want to find books to publish!  Writers who have entered our contest have gone on to sign contracts, sometimes multiple ones, as a result of this contest (historical author Tracy Brogan has gone on to become a bestselling author with multiple contracts!).  Enter HERE! 

As far as my writing goes, I’m trying to do a 5k weekend, but haven’t been sleeping well at all, so my brain hasn’t been cooperating.  I haven’t given up though.  I have 2k done, just need 3k to go to reach my goal.  I want to get this short story done by the end of the month, and really, there is no reason for me not to be able to.  It will be less than 10k words, probably closer to 7-8k.  But of course, those first drafts tend to run over a bit.

Once I am done with this short, I will get to some serious work on the novel.  I’m going to try using  some pointers from this e-book so I can write more efficiently.  Not sure how much plotting I will do this time around.  I’ve been thinking a lot about my book, and doing some of the exercises from The 90-Day Novel by Alan Watt to try to get into my character’s voice.  I’ll probably just try to get a beginning and end in mind, and then each day try to plan what I will do on that particular day.  Or, I might decide to follow Watt’s path.  But for now, back to the short story!

Hope everyone has a great week!

3 thoughts on “Attention Romance Writers! And a #ROW80 update…

  1. The important thing is if your goal works for you 🙂 I learned early on that comparing myself TOO much to other people just makes me depressed. BTW, I did not manage my 5k words–I came down with a cold and just couldn’t do it!

  2. Lack of sleep is so frustrating, because you’re awake enough to want to do something but not alert enough to be able to focus on anything (I know this feeling well). 2,000 words for a weekend is still awesome, and since it’s early in the ROW80 round, you’ll have plenty of time to catch up 🙂 Hope you feel better!

Leave a Reply

