My 2013 Goals

It’s about time!  

As promised, this post is going to be about my goals for 2013–specifically, my writing goals, but if anyone would like to know more about my other goals and how I set them, in family, or arts, or finances, etc. feel free to ask in the comments.  I figure my writing goals are what most people would be interested in here.

In the last post, I said that one of my four areas of concentration for the year, the things most important to me, was my writing career.  Under that big heading, I put 4 (now 5) subheadings: 1) Craft; 2) Business Skills; 3) Production; 4) Community; 5) Celebrate.

Now, many people would stop there.  “I’d like to write more.  I’d like to learn more about the business.”  Well, that’s a start, but how do yo know what “more” is?  How do you know if you have succeeded?  Yup–measurable goals.  Under each of these 5 things, I wrote 1-3 specific things I can do to accomplish my goals.

Image

 

This is what the writing part of my goal poster looks like.  I do it by hand, because it helps cement things in my brain, but you can feel free to do it in whatever way works for you.  I hang this up in my house, in a place I can see it on a regular basis.  You don’t have to put it up in a place others will see it; I have kept mine in my bedroom.

Originally, I had wanted to write 2 novels, but I decided to cut it down to 1, since I am also doing Holly Lisle’s “How to Think Sideways” course, and want to make sure I have enough time to try out all the new things I’ll be learning.  If by the midpoint of the year, it looks like I could do two novels, I can easily change my goal.  I try to shift up, though, and not down, so I try to be very realistic when I set things up in the beginning.

Again, if anyone wants me to elaborate on any of this, ask away in the comments.

So….now that my year’s goals are laid out, it’s time for my quarterly ones–which means….ROW 80! (for those who don’t know what ROW 80 is, check it out here)

I’m a little late announcing my goals for ROW 80, but hey, better late than never (and that’s important to remember about any goals).  So, here’s how it breaks down for the 5 goal areas for this quarter:

1) Craft: Complete the first 8 lessons in Holly Lisle’s course; attend EPICon in March; no online course this quarter (unless something really hits me)

2) Business Skills: Read 1/4 of The Copyright Handbook; review Kristine Katherine Rusch’s business posts (Freelancer’s Guide, etc); stay up to date on Kris and Dean’s blogs.

3) Production: Complete one short story and begin the next; finish planning novel; write 10k on novel.

4) Community: Keep up!  Share, communicate.  Two blogs posts per week.

5) Celebrate: Yeah, this seems like it should be easy, but so often we focus on the downer stuff.  Find something positive every day.  Celebrate every success.

So, what are your goals for this year?  Feel free to share in the comments :).  

6 thoughts on “My 2013 Goals

  1. I love your goals poster. I have a bad relationship with goals (especially writing goals), so I’m not letting myself be quite so organized. And no ROW80 for me this time around.

    But…I do have the Cavalcade of Classics, and I’ve signed up for Kelly McGonigal’s Boost Your Willpower online workshop through Yoga Journal. I’m also planning to keep up exercising six days a week to try to replicate the amount of exercise I’m not getting living in a not-so-walkable area. Another informal goal is to track the books I read with the kids through Goodreads and LibraryThing. I should really think about adding a Celebrate aspect to this list.

    • I have an exercise goal as well…but it’s not going well so far. The past couple weeks I’ve been having some physical issues and I need to figure out a way I can exercise without killing my knees. Even yoga has been bothering them lately. I hear you about the not-so-walkable area. All through my 20s I lived in places where I would walk everywhere. Then I moved back here, and ugh.

      The Cavalcade of Classics sounds like a great idea, and I would love to do something like that. I need to work on a slower level than I think most other people would be doing, but see, that’s one weakness I have with goal setting–if I can’t do it all the way, then I feel like I failed before I’ve begun. I need to just adjust things like that to go with my needs rather than someone else’s.

      I’m just getting into Goodreads!

      • I read slower (or at least complete books slower) than a lot of people I follow on Goodreads and on book blogs, and it feels discouraging sometimes. But I have to remind myself that most (all?) of them aren’t homeschooling. I pushed my list a little more than I’d planned, but I wanted it to be a challenge. I should be able to meet my goal if I average 1.5 books a month and don’t add any more to the list (and if I stop spending so much time online). I’m trying to keep it flexible and let myself set aside books that just aren’t doing it for me after I’ve given them a solid chance. We’ll see how that goes (I really don’t like leaving books unfinished).

        I’ve been doing Leslie Sansone’s 5-mile Fat-Burning Walk (most often just 1 or 2 miles at a time) as part of my repertoire of exercise videos. I got it from the library to try it and then ended up buying my own copy and one for my mom who had knee surgery last year. It’s very low-impact (if you skip the “boosted walking”). Just thought I’d toss that out there.

        I’ve been on Goodreads since 2008, but I’m just starting to get into LibraryThing. I feel like I’m spending more time cataloging books than I am reading them, so I have to taper it down a little.

      • Oh, I had done that exact video with my foster son on rainy days when he was here. He lost 30 lbs when he was with us (he was morbidly obese, and it was scary–he didn’t have to do anything out of the ordinary to lose those pounds. Playing and eating normal family food took off THIRTY POUNDS!). I forgot about Leslie.

        Keeping up with everything is certainly exhausting… and it is so hard to find a balance to get everything done!

Leave a Reply

