Wrapping up the old year, welcoming the new

Now that 2012 is wrapping up, I’m looking forward to the new year.  I’ve accomplished so much this year.  At the beginning of the year, I said that 2012 is the year that is going to be a turning point in my life.  I wanted to leave behind the days of thinking that my life was just wasting away, that I was not accomplishing anything for myself, that I was giving, giving, giving every ounce of my energy away on other people and on things that just didn’t matter.  I also wanted to find a balance, a way to find time to do everything I wanted to do, all the things that were important to me.  And although things didn’t happen exactly how I had planned, the end goal was accomplished.  I think I really found myself this year, and I am really pleased with the start I’ve made.

Of course, while I did accomplish a lot, some other things had to slide to make way for the new.  I think 2013 is going to be the year for balancing things even more.  Housework and health, especially.  The trick is going to be not letting the things I accomplished this year slide while I catch up with the new things.  I want to make a new schedule, making a little more time for things like housework, because I want to show my son how important it is to have your home be a nest where you want to be, that is comfortable and warm.  My house isn’t nasty or anything, but it has never been a priority.  It doesn’t need to be absolutely spotless, but I’d like it to be nice, and most importantly, I’d like there to be a place for everything.  I want to think about all the things I like to do, and then make the space to allow me (and everyone else) to just do that thing.

I’ve made some very important decisions this year, after doing a lot of experimentation.  And I have learned a lot.  The most important thing I’ve learned, I think, is that every part of my life is connected.  My writing, my parenting, my marriage, the house–I can’t make decisions on one aspect without it affect the other parts as well.  I’ve also discovered that I feel more comfortable with “later.”  Later exists–I don’t have to have everything and do everything right now, in this second.  With my attention issues, this is a really hard thing for me. I feel like if something isn’t happening now, it’s never going to happen.  It causes me a lot of stress.  But I need to really work on the idea that everything is not instantaneous.

I had a very successful year, relatively.  I placed in several contests, joined a writing group (which I will be vice president of next year–go CTRWA!), wrote a novel, made so many new friends.  My confidence level has gone way up.  I kind of feel like 2012 was the first year of the rest of my life.

Visit the Monkey Shop for last minute gift ideas!

I hope you all have at least had an enlightening year, if not an entirely good one.  I know every year is a rough one for someone.  In the next couple posts, I hope to start listing some new years resolutions!

Leave a Reply

