A Writing Machine?

I’ve had friends who consistently put out 2,000 words per day and up, and often I’ve wondered how the heck they do that.  I call them writing machines.  If someone compliments me, I might say, “Well, yes, I write a fair amount, but look at so-and-so, she’s a machine.”  In my eyes, it’s the highest praise, especially if that machine produces both quantity and quality.

Inner workings of a writing machine?

In order to finish my novel for Harlequin’s So You Think You Can Write contest, I’ve had to crank out a lot of words, and do them quickly and well.  There’s no room for crappy first drafts, here.  I decided to do this contest only a few weeks ago, and my novel was only a quarter complete.  An insane idea? Yes, but this is me we’re talking about here.

So.  How am I doing?  I am cranking out 3,000 words per day.  They aren’t the best words, but they are passable, especially since I have no idea if I will be able to edit them before I have to submit, should I actually make it to the next judging round.  They are the best I can do in this amount of time.  Writing like this is exhausting, but I will say that having this firm external deadline is really helping.  I have no room for writer’s block, no time for self-doubt.  I must forge ahead!

After this marathon, NaNoWriMo is going to seem like cake!

Would you like to help me make it to the next round of SYTYCW, and possibly see me get a contract with Harlequin?  Do you like historical romance, but are bored of the same old settings?  If so, CLICK HERE to read and vote for my novel, His Roman Heart’s Desire, finalist in both the GSRWA Emerald City Opener contest and the SFA-RWA Heart to Heart contest.  I can’t make it to he next round of the contest without you!  You can vote once per day, every day until October 11.

So, I think I may have joined the ranks of being a writing machine after all!  And to answer the question, “How do you do that?”  Well, I just do it.  No one has the time.  You just have to make it and write.

8 thoughts on “A Writing Machine?

  1. Melanie, great site. If you write all day, first thing the next morning for an hour you edit, then you'll get right back into the story and it will be great. I know you can do it. I'm heading over to vote now.

  2. I've seen a couple of friends do that as well (in waves, but still) and it's pretty shocking to me. I'm lucky if I can get a couple hundred words in a day! Congrats on being able to become a writing machine and good luck on the contest!

  3. It's hard–even just a few weeks ago I was so pleased with a thousand words per day. But now I have a deadline and some major motivation, which I find makes a big difference. When this project is over, I think I'll be pretty relieved!

  4. At 3k a day, I'd say you've earned that "Writing Machine" title fair and square. You're doing great. Keep it up! Best of luck with His Roman Heart's Desire 🙂

  5. Sounds like you're doing great Melanie.Im' still trying to figure out a workable writing schedule with working full time, where I can get a consistent word count out every day. I'd be thrilled with 1000 words a day!

Leave a Reply

