Quarterly goals and a BIG REQUEST!

I have entered Harlequin’s So You Think You Can Write contest!  So, as I said in my previous post, I’m going to need your help with this one!  This contest is kind of like American Idol–the public votes for the stories they want to win.  Phase one starts on Tuesday, October 2, and runs until October 11th.  During this time period, you can vote once per day, every day.  I need all the votes I can get, so feel free during this time to tweet and share the link to my story, and most importantly, VOTE!

HERE IS THE LINK TO MY ENTRY, HIS ROMAN HEART’S DESIRE.

And thank you in advance.  This contest is very important to me, as the first prize is a publishing contract with Harlequin.  You can read the details of how they decide the winners on the site (it’s a combination of voting and editors judging).  There are currently over 500 stories entered.  I hope you all enjoy reading my work!  Remember, voting is from Tuesday, October 2nd, through Thursday, October 11th.

As for quarterly goals, it’s pretty easy this time.  I am going to do NaNoWriMo this year.  So the beginning of October will be spent putting finishing touches on HRHD.  Then, if that story does not go forward in the contest, I will continue editing it during the rest of the month so I can pitch it at the Emerald City Writers’ Conference.  While I’m doing the editing, I’ll also be toying with ideas and starting a rough outline for the novel I will do next month.  I’ll be writing the 50k words for NaNo, but the novel I will write needs to be 75k words, so I won’t reach “the end” during November (well, unless I DO write 75k that month).  Then, of course, December will be here.  So I’ll finish that novel and start editing it then.  I’ll want that novel ready to be pitched at the spring time conferences.  Novel goals are much simpler than short story ones, at least I find.  With the larger scale, adjustments to the schedule don’t throw things off as much.

Good luck to all my fellow ROWers!

4 thoughts on “Quarterly goals and a BIG REQUEST!

  1. To tell the truth, I don't know where this energy came from. I think one day I just got up and said, "Enough of this!" I used to joke about if you look up "stalled career" in the dictionary, my picture would be there. I guess I just got sick of it. I'm sort of reinventing myself, trying to find a balance between writing as an art and writing as a way to make a living. Part of it seems to be not letting opportunities slip past because I think I might not be able to do them. I just jump in with both feet. I've been doing this since the summer, and while it is a daunting amount of work sometimes, it also really feels good to be able to accomplish something (other than laundry ;)).Good luck to you, and I am glad I know you, too!!

  2. Wow, what ambitious goals. I'm too timid to say I'll write a novel in a round (let us not discuss the NaNaWriMo arm flailing of doom). I wish you the best in the lands I fear to tread! You can do it. PS- Voted for you. Best wishes in that contest too!

Leave a Reply

