Decisions and hyper-focus mode

Wow, I have had a crazy week of soul searching and decision making.  Decisions have been made, and I feel really good about them.  Two decisions are immediate:

1.  I am entering Harlequin’s So You Think You Can Write contest.  This is huge for me, and I will need all of your help–every last one of you!  I will keep you posted as to what exactly you must do (please ;)), but it involves voting for chapter 1 of my story in the first phase of the contest.  You can vote once a day from October 2-11.  Tell your friends, tell your families!  I will need all the help I can get, because this is not only judged on the strength of my writing, but on how popular my chapter is among readers!

2.  I will be doing NaNoWriMo this year.  Starting on November 1st, I will be writing a fresh new novel, the story of one of the secondary characters in the novel I am currently writing.

These two things mean that I have to really get into writing mode and finish this book.  I have until mid October.  I have tons of notes, and I have an outline, so it should be doable.  I just need to DO it.  Then, after mid October, I will be outlining the novel I will be writing in November.

BUSY is the theme for this fall!

This is the last check in opportunity for this round of ROW 80.  I haven’t kept up with the check ins as well as I could have, but I did mange to get quite a bit of work done.  The next round starts on October 1st, and it will be a doozy, especially in this corner!  Hope others have had a productive quarter, and good luck to you all in the next one.

4 thoughts on “Decisions and hyper-focus mode

  1. Ooh! NaNoWriMo 2012! After my quick fizzle last year, I've decided to do just ROW80 this next round and focus on reading other writers and recapturing my own joy and playfulness in writing. Watching your progress helps…it's encouraging to see a writer I know in person settin' 'em up and knockin' 'em down (so to speak).

  2. There are a lot of ROWers who NaNo, so if you find it helpful, be sure to scan the Round 4 goals and get plugged in.For me, the point of ROW80 is to establish habits. It sounds like you've done a great job of that. Good luck on the contest–be sure to remind everyone when Round 4 starts October 1.

  3. Will be be in your companies during nano. Hopefully I don't run myself into the ground, however! I think that I am, if I survive SYTYCW, going to be very well prepared for nano this year! It would be awesome to get into the habit of 1500-2000 words per day. Consistency is the key, though!

Leave a Reply

