Seattle or bust!

I found out the other day that I am a finalist in the historical category of GSRWA’s Emerald City Opener contest.  I’m pretty psyched, especially since this is the first romance contest I’ve ever entered.  It’s also a pretty popular one, and competition is stiff.  I feel really lucky to be in the top three of my category, especially with my setting.  The winners will be announced on the weekend of GSWRA’s conference, which means if I want to actually see the results in person, I will have to go to Seattle the last weekend of October.

Mind you, I have just gotten back from family vacation with the in-laws.  We’ve just purchased this year’s curriculum for my son.  As the Starks say, “Winter is coming,” and I need to save for heat this winter.  And of course, the Chief has outgrown his entire winter wardrobe… I was planning on going to NJRWA’s conference in October, but had just decided that it would not be financially feasible, literally the day before I received news that I was a finalist in this contest.

Well.  This conference is more expensive, and it is all the way across the country, making air travel a necessity (something I hate with every ounce of my being).  Well, I COULD take a train, but that would be a very long trip.  But….. Something’s telling me to give it a try.  So I’m going to have to do some old fashioned fundraising.  Panhandling.  And I need to get the funds pretty quickly, because this conference fills up quickly.  And don’t worry–I will let you all know of ways you can help ;-).

This also means I need to finish this novel!  Which is definitely possible by October, but you know what happens with the best laid plans…  So this week I will be shifting gears once more, so I can get back into romance writing mode.  It’s probably safe to say that Writers of the Future will have to wait this quarter.  I will need to have something to pitch if I do go to Seattle!  Stay tuned for more details!

3 thoughts on “Seattle or bust!

  1. Congratulations! What a thrill to be a finalist, and I hope you are able to go to Seattle. Your post suggests humor and tenacity, characteristics that bode well for storytelling. May that next letter from Emerald City bring you even better news!

Leave a Reply

