Shifting gears a bit

Wow, this season has been a haze of allergies so far.  I have no idea what I am allergic to, but I haven’t felt this way in years.  I’ve actually had to take benedryl on top of my 24 hr medicine (don’t try this at home, kids).

My Gotham workshop ends today, and I was very happy with it.  I learned so much, even though I’ve been writing for publication for ten years.  It was fun, and the ladies I met there were fabulous. I hope we can all keep in touch.

My historical romance has been going OK, but I think I need to let it sit for a little while, and sort of age like a wine or something.  There is something with the story that’s not working for me, and I need to figure it out before I can move on.  Last night my characters spent about 1000 words talking about nothing… it was getting ludicrous.  So for a little while I will be working on my fantasy romance.  I have about 25k words written on it so far, which takes things to the second turning point, or the threshold of act two.

I might also give the next quarter of Writers of the Future a shot.  I have a fairly decent story idea, and have about 8000 words written on it, so it won’t hurt anything to get it done.

Foxgloves

Leave a Reply

