Oh, dear…

I’m late, I’m behind, and the challenge has barely begun!

That’s OK. Because I can just get up, dust off, and move on. I’m doing ROW 80 again, and I’m through with experimenting. I’m done with the “grass is greener” mentality, I’m through with looking at other people’s goals and accomplishments and wanting them, rather than wanting what is MINE, what works for me. I’m tired of worrying about status and what people will think. I just want to write a good book, and do what I think is right with it, rather than trying out all manner of things because I’m panicking that the world is going to explode.
A Round of Words in 80 Days. 2012, Round 2.
By the end of these 80 days, I will have a novel. That’s the big picture. The small measurable goals look like this, so far:
Week One, April 2-8: Work on the outline I was supposed to have done last week in preparation. Not agonize over being late. By Sunday, I want a nice story board up. Maybe even with pictures.
Weeks Two and Three, April 8-22: Write. Just write. Act one should be done in these two weeks. 16,000 words is my goal for these two weeks.
Week Four, April 22-29: Breathe. Read over act one, make sure things are going as they should, make any adjustments to the outline. Perhaps send act one to my WIPettes, for comments, but be careful not to read too much into their comments just yet. This would mainly be so that I’m not pressing too much on them at once.
Weeks Five and Six, April 29-May 13: Write, write, write through to midpoint, to 35,000 words.
Week Seven, May 13-20: Breathe, read over the first half of Act 2, make sure things are going in the right direction. Make any adjustments to outline.
Weeks Eight and Nine, May 20-June 3: Write the second half of Act 2, through about 54,000 words.
Week Ten, June 3-10: Read over the story so far, make sure everything works. Make any adjustments to outline. Plan way of celebrating The End.
Weeks Eleven and Twelve, June 10-24: WRITE. Write Act 3, finish the story. 70,000 words.
THE END.
This is about 1200 words a day on writing days. I really think this is reasonable. I know I can write more than this. 2000 words a day is not unreasonable for me, but sustaining that is hard. I don’t want this to be a race, I want it to be a project that I can finish. I know from my years of writing that I work the best in bursts of a couple weeks, and then I need to go over what I wrote and sort of “regroup” a little, take a few days to get hold of the big picture again.
FITNESS: I have a goal of losing 25 pounds in 5 months. 5 pounds per month. Roughly 1-2 pounds per week. This way, when I pitch my novel in October, I will be back to my “normal” self, and hopefully will feel great. (Suddenly, I have found that I can’t eat donuts like I used to… the wake up call of the mid-thirties, I guess!).
Good luck to all other ROW 80 participants!
Leave a Reply

