Unstuck

I’ve kind of fallen off the face of the Earth–sorry about that. I’ve thought about blogging several times this week, but I decided the time would be better spent working on my story.

I was a bit stuck with the thing. Things were going SO well for a while that it took me by surprise when I woke up one morning and said, “Wow, this thing is just a huge pile of junk!” I worked and worked, trying to figure out why it was junk, to no avail.
Finally, I accidentally came upon the solution.
I was sick of being stuck on the story, so I closed the file for a couple days and started working on my novel again for a bit. I think it was about five days or so. Then, I knew I had to make a decision. Did I want to enter WOTF this quarter? The answer was yes. I had two story possibilities (but not really–the second choice was a really cliched fantasy story I had started a couple years ago). So last night, I sat down and read the 10k words I have of my science fiction story (the one I was stuck on), and I realized it really wasn’t so bad. I cut out a little bit, some extra stuff that didn’t really have to do with the central plot problem, and I felt so much better about it. This afternoon I was able to write about 1,000 words on it, and I feel like I’m back in the game.
So, in case I don’t remember next time: if I get stuck writing a story, put it away for a couple days and look at it again with rested eyes!
Leave a Reply

