One thing or another….

Sheesh, it seems like it’s always something. But I feel a little more relaxed now, so hopefully more will be accomplished.

I’m still plowing on with my short story (which is actually not so short anymore… I took a break to critique a couple of stories, and to make hats for homeless veterans in my city. I’m feeling a little frustrated because this story doesn’t seem to want to be rushed. I haven’t been feeling any of the emotion, any of the excitement, that I usually feel about a story at this point. There is just something missing here. I think I’m going to have to stop thinking about there being a deadline, and start just letting the story unfold the way it needs to.
Two of my novels are screaming for my attention, and it’s hard to decide which one I should work on first. Well, after I’m done with this short story, of course. The one I think I want to do first is a science fiction novel with a bit of a romantic element to it (not enough for it to actually be a romance, though). It plays out in my head like a movie, I think it is about ready to come out. I have actually written a fair amount of it, but it is a shell of a story. Like, it didn’t know what it wanted to be when it grew up, but now it does.
Another struggle–I am trying to decide if I should try to enter Writers of the Future every quarter this year or if I should work on the novels that are really calling to me. I should be able to do both. Maybe if I stop watching Wil Wheaton singing Soft Kitty, I’d have time…
One thought on “One thing or another….

Leave a Reply

