Sunday Musings

Phew, it’s been a busy week. Between making hats (see Monkeys on a Mission), making a baby outfit for a certain someone, TRYING to keep up with the housework (trying being the operative word), homeschooling, and a stream of other things, I’m glad I survived (only to do it all again next week). I even continued my goal of writing for an hour a day.

After some thinking, I’ve decided it’s not realistic for me to start a new project while typing up this current manuscript. The typing, for me, is also a creative part of the process because I fill in the details that make the actual story come to life. For me, at least, it is a right brained process, and so I am going to count the time I spend typing as writing time. If I was just typing words in, and not adding anything, I would say it wouldn’t count, but as I am seeing in the past couple days, hundreds of new words are appearing in the manuscript.
I now have three of my older stories that were published a few years ago up on Amazon, Smashwords, and Barnes and Noble. You can see the links on the right sidebar of this blog. “Turtle Child” was the first story of mine to be published in a “real” magazine (though I didn’t make anything from it, you could still go to your national chain bookstore and buy a copy), so it was nice to be able to get that out there again. The same with “Swift as a Shadow…” These stores are all fantasy, which I haven’t been writing very much of lately. I’m more on a science fiction roll right now.
Slowly I am going to try to morph my goals of writing for a certain amount of time per day into a goal of writing so many words per day. The first step has been carving out that time in my schedule, though, and so far it has been working out. I’d like to try to get more work done during the day. An hour at night and an hour during the day should be easily feasible. Sometimes during the day my son has other plans, however. It was really easy when he played Wii in the afternoons, but we have cut that out of our day, because with his ASD issues, it wasn’t working. He would become obsessed with the games and would play them all day, even in his head. He would lose interest in everything else. Even when he played with his friends, he would become extremely inflexible because things didn’t go the way the game in his head said they should. So no more of that. We’ll just have to figure something else out.
My current short story is close to being done. I should definitely be able to meet my goal of having it done by the end of this week. As I said, the goal of an hour per day seems to be pretty easily attainable, even with all this stuff keeping me busy. I thought it would be way harder. So, I think maybe next week or in a couple weeks, it will be time to re-evaluate things and increase that goal to two hours per day.
3 thoughts on “Sunday Musings

  1. I hear you on cutting out the gaming! We don't allow it on school days at all because they do get so obsessed with the games. Good update. Wishing you all the best for the upcoming week.

  2. I love seeing the images to your books in your sidebar. I have been thinking of making a photo poster representing my current WIP to hang above my desk to keep me going.Loved reading your #ROW80 post today & look forward to the next time as well!

  3. I'm glad you are enjoying the blog!Julie–I often put pictures of people from magazines that look like the characters from my stories (sometimes I even attempt to draw them, though this often fails dramatically) up on my bulletin board. It kind of keeps me in the story, when I look at the pictures I can get a betting handle on voice and stuff like that. It just creates better images in my head of what is going on.

Leave a Reply

