A New Year is Upon Us…

*Note: These are slightly different goals from the ROW 80 ones. These are year long goals, that I will carry through until the end of 2012, whether I do ROW 80 or not.

I read this (it’s three parts, so please go on to read all three parts) over on Dean Wesley Smith’s blog, and have been thinking about it on and off for a couple days now.

Let me start by saying that last years writing goals did not work out the way I had hoped. Goals never do, but life seemed to throw me some weird curve balls last year, and left me dazed and confused. My successes: Well I earned an honorable mention from Writers of the Future. But that was pretty much it. I wrote ONE short story, and then some bits on random novels. I wrote a couple of really weak beginnings of things. But these things came no where near making 2011 the year I wanted it to be. I need to let last year go, though, and look forward to this one.

The first thing I have to do this year, the first goal, is to be able to let go of any old lingering expectations I had about life and accept things the way they are and work with what I have. I am a stay at home mom with a special needs child that I homeschool. I used to write for hours and hours a day, and now I’m lucky if I can get dressed ;). But I set myself a goal of writing for an hour a day, and it seems to be working really well. I actually am able to write more than that, but it is hard to keep track of the snippets of time throughout the day I can grab as writing time, so I don’t. Most of my writing hour happens after everyone is in bed (including me! LOL, I am a bed-writer). So,

Goal #1a: Write for an hour a day, and feel lucky that I HAVE that hour to write in. Don’t expect anything more, but gladly accept anything that comes my way.

Something I learned from last year, too, is that if I set a goal of “enter WOTF every quarter,” then that’s all I did. I would spend that whole quarter messing around, and write one story which I would submit. I need to not do that this year. So,

Goal #1b: That hour per day is for NEW WORDS. Editing and stuff like that I know I can do during the day (we have quiet time, which we are really working on, and it looks like it will be a success, so I will do editing and all that kind of work during that hour). I would really love to have a nice arsenal of short stories by the end of the year, way more than the four necessary for entering WOTF each quarter.

Really, that’s about it, a two parted single goal. I don’t really need a goal for submitting, I am doing that already and don’t really have a problem with it. My DREAM for 2012 would be to make 2 pro sales or to win WOTF ;). But those things I only have so much power over, and the best way for them to happen, on my end, is to keep writing!

2 thoughts on “A New Year is Upon Us…

  1. I love that you've kept your goals to the things you actually have control over. I definitely have trouble confining myself to those types of goals. And it sounds like you're rocking them, so far! I totally forgot about ROW80, but it's probably for the best anyway. I don't know that I could do a meditation challenge and a writing challenge at the same time.

  2. In years past, I kept saying, "OK this is the year I am going to get published" and not just published, but pubbed in one of the Big Three (Analog, Asimov's, or Fantasy and Science Fiction). But that is, once you think about it, just a dumb goal. THe only thing I can do is just write and write more, because that will give me more practice and it will give me more options. :)One challenge at a time! Though I really am thinking it's time to get serious about dropping a few pounds. Which I will get into more when I post my Sunday check in.

Leave a Reply

