My official join-up post

I am going to be ROWing the next 80 days (well, starting January 2nd).

For those of you who have no idea what I am talking about, ROW 80 is insider lingo for A Round of Words in 80 Days. It is a writing challenge for those of us who have lives. Sure, NaNoWriMo is a good idea… But what about those of us who have outside jobs, or who are parents (especially those who have kids who need special attention!), or who….well, just have LIVES? And yes, I suppose I can’t really use that as my excuse for not doing NaNo. I do, after all, have several NaNo “wins” under my belt. But the other thing is that I have never done anything with those NaNo “wins.” I have about six masses of words from past Novembers. They are big messes that I just can’t bring myself to touch. I’ve come to the conclusion that I don’t write well that way. I can’t just dump 50,000 words into my computer for a month without looking back until it’s all over. Though I have to say it is fun, and I might do it again in the future. Another thought on this is that being a writer is more than just dumping words for a month. There are 11 other months in the year.
There are 4 quarters to the year, there are 4 rounds to ROW 80. You set your own goals. For example, I am not working on a novel currently. I am doing short stories. So I will be setting my goals to deal with that. I have a specific market that I am writing for, so my goals can take that into account. I homeschool, I have a small business, and I have 4 neurotic rabbits who need attention. I can take all these things into account when I set my goals. SO, round one, here I come! I will be posting my goals when the time comes!
Today’s cool thing: My husband and I watched this with our son this morning. I remember in college, working with a couple folks who were part of the Cassini/Huygens mission, and all the excitement that surrounded it. So, for your viewing pleasure, View of Titan from Huygens.
Leave a Reply

