Wow… (and some cool news!)

Where has time gone?? Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve posted on here. I had a truly busy time, trying to plan the school year for my son, the Chief’s, homeschool. I’ve also been working a lot on our home and trying out ways to improve our self-sufficiency. Right now, I am trying to figure out what to do with my blogs. I have two blogs, one for writing (this one) and the other for homeschooling stuff and life. There never seems to be enough for either, and I go in waves, posting on one for a while, then going to the other. I’d like to combine them, and hopefully things won’t be too boring for either group of readers. Not sure if this blog will be moving, or what exactly will be going on, but I will keep you all posted.

The cool news is that I received an honorable mention in the 3rd quarter of the 2011 Writers of the Future contest. Definitely a step in the right direction, and it feels good after having such a rough couple of years. The important thing I need to remember is that I don’t have to follow every “should” in the book. For the past few months, every time I think about writing, my blood pressure spikes. I get anxiety, and I can’t sleep at night. All because I’m trying to figure out the “right” thing to do, what the right next step is, etc. I need to breathe, take a step back, look at the big picture. I need to enjoy things more, instead of obsessing over “getting somewhere.”
One thought on “Wow… (and some cool news!)

  1. Congrats on the honorable mention!! I understand your anxiety. Complete brain overload with all the info/tidbits/suggestions/do this, no don't do that creates major overload in my brain and stunts or destroys the story that is trying to come out. Stepping back, breathing, refocusing on your voice and what your heart is telling you is a great idea.

Leave a Reply

