Woops, Wednesday again!

I did my revisions on the short story and sent it out for another round of critiques. Got a couple of those backs, and it looks like I just have to do some things like work with themes a bit, to make them present throughout the story, things like that. I really put every word through the wringer of the first page of my novel, and submitted it to the “cold read” lunch at the Connecticut Fiction Fest, where a panel of agents and editors will be reading and critiquing first pages. This is valuable because it shows you what give the agents/editors pause, what they like and don’t like, etc.

Right now I am trying to decide whether or not I want to work on a new science fiction short story, or if I want to work on my novel in the next few months. I will end up writing both, but the order is what is catching me now. I was wanting to enter Writers of the Future every quarter, but I miss working on my novel, which has really fallen to the wayside. I would love to be able to pitch my novel at the NECRWA conference next year. I should know by Sunday what I am doing.

Only a few more days till CFF! Really looking forward to seeing people there!

One thought on “Woops, Wednesday again!

  1. I'm in a similar boat – I've got a novel planned out and the first pages written, but I'm having trouble finding time to work on it, and I miss it. I did get another short story polished off and sent out last week, and one of my goals is to keep writing new shorts so I always have several in circulation…but between work and family, I don't know when I'll get time to work on the novel. You know, before my kids grow up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

