Wednesday check in, more rain

Yeah, I know. April showers and all that. I’m so over April showers, though!

For the past couple of days I’ve been brainstorming my next short story and doing a lot of world building and all that. Next step is working on my main character. I’m not in too much of a rush with that though, which is good. These things usually work out better if they can come to me gradually rather than me just trying to force them out.

I’m also looking hard at one of my novels, and thinking about reworking it into a science fiction novel. I think it would work far better that way. The way it exists now, I keep getting blocked by historical accuracy issues, and while i know that a historical novel does not have to be strictly accurate, I know way too much about the subject to just wing it! But if I make it science fiction, I can explore the theme even more deeply, themes of humanity and slavery.

Next week I hope to start the next draft of my current short story (and I’m HOPING there won’t be too many changes… that would be great πŸ™‚ But it would be also great if I could make the story as good as possible, so I’m hoping my readers aren’t holding anything back!

Things are still on target for ROW 80. In fact, they seem a little “too” on target. But I know that if I had planned to do MORE, my story would have come back needing tons of work and I would have been going crazy. Better safe than sorry. And now I have more time to work on my novel and my next story. πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “Wednesday check in, more rain

  1. Better to be on target than not! I too sometimes struggle with how historically accurate I want to go… I think if it gets in the way of writing, or it's something that a well-versed reader would pick up, you should definitely stick to the facts. Otherwise, you might be able to flub it a little.

  2. Claire–I would love to write steampunk, but I don't feel like I have a strong enough grasp of the genre yet; that and I just can't think of a good plot line!Andrew–I'm just the kind of person who needs a lot going on. I always accomplish so much more when things are busy. If my schedule is open, I just can't get motivated to do anything!Belinda–I think one of the problems is that I know the period and people I am writing about "too" well, if that makes sense. It makes it hard to write fiction about them. It feels wrong, almost like I'm not worthy… Who am I to speculate about their lives?Thanks everyone, for your well wishes!Melanie

  3. Sometimes repurposing is the best way to go. Follow you instincts–those voices are there for a reason, other than just driving us crazy (altho their awfully good at that, too).

Leave a Reply

