Maybe my fingers are just stiff from the cold…

I haven’t been writing as much as I wanted to. My original goal was to have something like 7,000 words by Friday. I’m not sure if I will make that, but I am happy to say that I AM at least writing a significant amount every day. And who knows, maybe I’ll make it. The word count is actually not as important as actually writing up to the right point in my story. I am hoping to get to the “inciting incident” by Friday. This would the point at which something really changes for my heroine. the thing that really sets my story in motion. Once I think about it, 7,000 words might be the longest I want that section to be. I will let you know on the weekend how things are shaping up.

It’s been so cold here all I want to do is hibernate!

5 thoughts on “Maybe my fingers are just stiff from the cold…

  1. I don't think that focusing on a strict word count is always beneficial. As long as we move forward and towards the right direction all is well :)I hear you about the cold. Our flat is freezing, can't wait for the winter to end.

  2. Very true, you don't want to wait too long for that inciting incident. 7,000 is a lot of words, for me anyway. I wish I could manage that many, but if I did, half of them probably wouldn't be worth saving!

  3. Working on it is the hardest part, don't worry about sticking to a strict amount of words – as long as you reach the point, it won't matter. I tend to mad dash before an exciting point then go back later to fill in the blanks. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

