A Round of Words in 80 Days: the official goal post–pt 1

(Part two of this post follows this one; just look at the next post to read it) For those of you who might have missed it, I am embarking on a writing adventure starting on January 3rd, called “A Round of Words in 80 Days.” In a nutshell, this is like NaNoWriMo, but for people with lives. People who can’t just shut everything down to write like a total maniac for a month. People with kids, with jobs, and with demanding neurotic pet rabbits. NaNo has rules that state you must write a novel of 50,000 words in the 30 days of November. ROW 80 has no rules, other than you need to set SOME sort of measurable goal, attainable by the end of 80 days. It can be research, plotting, writing, editing, whatever sort of writing related goal you can think of.

Well, here it is, folks, my official ROW 80 goal: To write a complete first draft of my novel, Tullia’s Shadow. I have no length requirement, because it is just a first draft and things will be added and taken away as I write subsequent drafts. My only requirement is that is be complete with a beginning, middle, and end, and that it be somewhat coherent. At the end, I want to be able to edit/revise in an organized way. I don’t want to just have this pile of junk that I can’t make heads or tails of, that makes editing a torturous undertaking. I’ve done that with NaNo, and I won’t be doing it again. I have four rough drafts of novels that will never see the light of day because they are such messes I can’t bear to even look at them. It was a waste of time and effort, because I would have to start over from complete scratch with all those ideas. At the end of these 80 days, I want to have something that at least somewhat resembles the end product. I don’t want perfection, but I do want production.

Every week, I am going to post on this blog my goals for that week. I have a basic plan I will be following, and I will follow up the next week with how I am doing, if I reached my goal for that week or not, what I need to do differently, etc.

And to all the other people on an 80 day writing adventure, good luck!!

5 thoughts on “A Round of Words in 80 Days: the official goal post–pt 1

  1. Hey Mad,How are you going to work your schedule using a WIP? I really want to use this challenge to work on my Fiorella story but I'm having trouble figuring out how to plan it out for the challenge. Are you continuing on from what you already have written or are you mixing it up with character sketches, plot outlines, research..? I agree with you about how at the end of NaNo you're faced with this 50,000 word mess of ideas and craziness. It's daunting to tackle it once NaNo is over. V

  2. I have a ton of stuff written for this particular story, I've been working on it and developing it for a couple years now. Basically, what I will be doing is taking what I have done, and making sense of it. I'm the type of person that learns while I'm doing something. So by actually writing the story, I have been learning about my characters and setting, motivations, etc. So for the first three or three and a half weeks or so, I will be really working with the ideas I have and getting down what I really want this story to be about. I did start this story a couple years ago with an outline, but it evolved over time, as I learned more about my characters and their motivations. So I will be sort of "re-planning" the story out, Just digging my hands into the stuff I have and reworking it into something more coherent. Then I will begin writing the actual draft, using some of my older writing, combined with newer writing (there is going to be more newer writing in there than older writing, because I no longer will be writing SO much for the discovery process). So basically, the short of it is, I am treating things almost like a new story.–Mad

  3. Thanks for your post and for detailing exactly what you intend to do during the next 80 days. I am very excited about this because like you said, my end product after the month of November for NaNo is often such a mess that it seldom resembles even the roughest kind of first draft. I admire your dedication and goals and I look forward to checking in on your progress. Good luck

Leave a Reply

