Monday, Monday….

I’m reading Plato’s Phaedrus.  It’s actually an enjoyable read, even though a few of the sentences could make a person’s eyes go crossed.  It’s a dialogue, and Plato has a pleasant writing voice, so it’s just a nice read.  I have the Loeb edition, which has the ancient Greek on one side and the English on the other.  I find the Loebs, both the Latin and Greek, to be the best translations out there.  They are a bit more expensive than others, but well worth it.  I’ve noticed other translations taking a lot of liberties with our philosophers’ words.  If Cicero is addressing Brutus in a work, then he is addressing Brutus.  I really see no need to edit that out.  

Making some headway on the novel.  This morning I had forgotten something very very important about it, something that I had not written down.  I had to go back and read over ALL my notes to remember it, but remember it I did, so emergency averted.  I’m very tired now… So I think I am going to cut this post short and get to bed so I can actually do some work tomorrow!
One thought on “Monday, Monday….

  1. I hate it when I forget something in my writing. I usually think those kinds of thoughts as I’m drifting off to sleep, so I have decide if I’m going to get up and write it down. Then I’ll toss and turn, thinking it would just take a minute to go fix it…It’s always easier to fix than we think, isn’t it?By the way, congratulations on 7 years of a happy marriage. A good marriage is something to treasure. Take the time to recognize it for the gift it is!

Leave a Reply

