To enter or not to enter…

Check this out! (it’s the June 9th entry I’m referring to, not sure if I can link to a specific post or not).  And I just wanted to let you know that both Kristan Higgins and Geri Krotow are great writers and wonderful women to know.  Kristan’s books are a hoot (but they still make me cry at parts) and Geri’s book… It made me really think, and I enjoy books that do that.  Not enough of them do.  It made me think about what is important in life, and what is important in a relationship.  And of course, Jennifer… where could I even begin with her strong points?

I’ve been going back and forth on whether or not to enter a contest I talked fellow writer Janelle Dakota into doing.  The idea entered my brain yesterday, but then when I saw how horrible what I had was, I wanted to reneg.  I’d have the rewrite the entire thing.  I have until Saturday morning to mail the thing (must be postmarked by midnight Sunday.  Yeah, how does that work?).  Sigh.  I could do it if I really got my butt in gear, but would it really be my best work?  It’s only seven pages, The first seven pages of my gothic romance.  The consensus seems to be to just work at it as much as possible, and if it gets done, good, if not, well, then I still have a good opening for my novel, right?
And speaking of Janelle, she’s going through a very rough patch, a rough YEAR.  So I thought I’d throw this out there:
I LOVE YOU, MAN!!
One thought on “To enter or not to enter…

  1. I love you, too! (((thank you)))One thing I’m noticing from the “rough patch” I’m going through: I appreciate my life and the people in it a lot more than I did before and I didn’t think that was possible.About the contest – To try, MadLeigh my girl, is to allow your mind to open up to the possibilities within your story. Crap be damned! (Ouch, that one even hurt ME.) We all write crap. And then we rewrite it, and rewrite it, and rewrite it…Just getting the 7 pages down gets you that much closer to “it’s finished!”Thank you for bullying me – oops, I mean encouraging me to enter that contest. The feeling of accomplishment lifted my shoulders at least an inch.

Leave a Reply

